Chairman Robert TamezScales
Commissioner Rebecca Bradford
Commissioner Jason Floyd

On September 24, 1991, the Nueces County Commissioner's Court received a petition requesting the creation of a Civil Service System. On October 23, 1991, under the authority of Section 158.0065 of the Vernon's Texas Local Government Code, Commissioner's Court passed an order instituting the Civil Service System.

The Civil Service Commission is composed of one Chairperson and two Commissioners. These individuals are selected from the communities in Nueces County to serve a two year term. They volunteer their time to this service.


The Civil Service System of Nueces County has been created under the authority of Chapter 158 of the Local Government Code. Its purpose is to establish and enforce rules in accordance with Section 158.009 of said chapter.